Star forward among five changes

Star forward among five changes

Hawthorn is set to be boosted by the return of star forward Mitch Lewis for Friday night’s clash against the Western Bulldogs at Marvel Stadium.

Lewis, who has booted 27 goals this season, is among five changes after injury saw him miss the trip to Western Australia to face Fremantle ahead of the mid-season bye.

Mid-season rookie James Blanck, who was recruited from Box Hill, is also set to make his debut in Friday night’s game.

Jarman Impey, James Worpel and Connor Macdonald are among the other inclusions for the Hawks in what will be the side’s first Friday night outing of the year.

Sam Frost will miss the match-up due to a knee injury, while Will Day (H&S protocols), Chad Wingard (calf), Kyle Hartigan (omitted) and Jackson Callow (omitted) have also been ruled out.

The Hawks will have 11 players who have played under 50 games suit up for Friday’s game.

Hawthorn emerges from the bye at 4-9 under Coach Sam Mitchell after narrow losses against Fremantle and Collingwood.

Head of Football Rob McCartney said Lewis would provide a significant boost to the side.

“Mitch has had a really strong campaign to date and is a great addition to our young team,” McCartney said.

“After arriving at the club in the recent mid-season draft, James Blanck will also play his first game in the brown and gold.

“Blancky has fitted seamlessly within the group and we look forward to seeing him run out there tomorrow night.

“It’s also fantastic to see Worps and Connor each earning another opportunity in the senior side after some recent impressive form in the VFL.

“Finally, Jarman is a welcome inclusion, having not played since Round 12.”

The Hawks will face the Bulldogs at Marvel Stadium on Friday night at 7pm.

Western Bulldogs vs. Hawthorn
Friday June 24
Marvel Stadium, 7 p.m.

B: Blake Hardwick, James Sicily, James Blanck
HB: Changkuoth Jiath, Jarman Impey, Harry Morrison
VS: Conor Nash, Tom Mitchell, Lachlan Bramble
HF: Liam Shiels, Luke Breust, Dylan Moore
F: Jacob Koschitzke, Mitch Lewis, Connor Macdonald
R: Ned Reeves, Jai Newcombe, Jaeger O’Meara
INT: James Worpel, Daniel Howe, Jack Scrimshaw, Sam Butler

Emer: Josh Morris, Finn Maginness, Denver Grainger-Barras, Jackson Callow

In: Lewis, Impey, Worpel, Macdonald, Blanck

Out: Callow (omitted), Day (H&S protocols), Wingard (calf), Hartigan (omitted), Frost (knee), Morris (Medi-Sub)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.